MM Eyetech Institute is registered with the Directorate of Health Services, Government of NCT of Delhi under Section 5 of the Delhi Nursing Homes Registration Act, 1953).
+91 99686 97700
+91 11 41551811 Call Us Email Us


Cornea, Glaucoma
+ (123) 1800-567-8996
Book appointment
We are here for you

Book appointment

Prof. (Dr.) Madan Mohan, the Founder- Chairman of the MM Eyetech Institute was Chief and Prof. of Opthalmology at the Dr. Rajendra Prasad Center for Ophthalmic Sciences, AIIMS, a post he held with distinction for over 10 years.

Specialty Cornea, Glaucoma
Degrees M.S. ophthalmology
Work Days Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday

Prof. (Dr.) Madan Mohan, the Founder- Chairman of the MM Eyetech Institute was Chief and Prof. of Opthalmology at the Dr. Rajendra Prasad Center for Ophthalmic Sciences, AIIMS, a post he held with distinction for over 10 years.

The other positions of pre-eminence held by him include Hon. Surgeon to the President of India, Advisor in Ophthalmology to the Govt. Of India (1980-91). For his excellent services in the health care, he has been awarded PADMA SHRI by the Hon’ble President of India in 1985

    • King Georges Medical College, Lukhnow.

MBBS batch 1949 to1954
M.S. ophthalmology 1957
Worked as Registrar cum Tutor of Ophthalmology 1956- 58
Lecturer K.G.M.C. 1959-60.

  • All India Institute of Medical Science.
    • Served as Assistant Prof. Assoc. and Prof.1960-79 and chief and Prof. of Ophthalmology from 1979 to 89.
    • Adviser Ophthalmology Min of Health and Family welfare, Govt. of India 1980 to 91 for National Programme for the Control of Blindness.
    • Hon Surgeon to President of India
    • President Delhi Ophthalmological Soc
    • President: National Soc for Prevention of Blindness 1980-83
    • President: All India Ophthalmological Soc (AIOS) 1988
    • Councillor/Regional Secy. Asia-Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) 1984-97
    • Trustee, Bhopal Memorial Hospital Trust Bhopal.
    • Member Programme Advisory Group on Global Strategy for Control of Blindness WHO 1980-90.
  • Awards and Distinctions.
    • Padmashri, Govt. of India 1985
    • Distinguished Service Award
    • International Eye Bank (USA) 1966
    • Adenwala Oration Gold Medal 1981
    • Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology Distinguished Services Award.
    • Mehray Distinguished Service Award, Govt. of UP 1985
    • O.P. Bhasin Award for Science and Technology from Prime Minister of India 1991.
    • Publs-Ed several book and journals.
    • Published many research papers,Awards.

Presently Chairman and Consultant at MM Eyetech Institute in Lajpat Nagar-III New Delhi practicing Ophthalmology along with his son Dr. Rishi Mohan and daughter in law Dr. Indira Mohan.




M.B.B.S., M.S., F.A.C.S., F.A.M.S.

Main contributions to ophthalmology as prof. Of ophthalmology and chief of dr. Rajendra prasad centre for ophthalmic science set up in 1967 at all india institute of medical science, new delhi.
* Developed Clinical services, research and post graduate training programmers (1960-89).

* Established corneal grafting unit and National Eye Bank at R. P. Centre.

* Introduced microsurgery and IOL implantation, Laser Surgery in Residency training programme. Developed concept of Clinical Ophthalmic Laboratories.

* Ophthalmic technician training B. Sc. (Hons.) course at A.I.I.M.S.

As advisor ophthalmology, ministry of health, government of india, incharge of national programme for the control of blindness (npcb):

* As President AIOS & Advisor Ophthalmology in 1988, I was instrumental in getting 100% in 1988 Customs Duty exemption on sight saving equipment (3 notifications were issued in 3 months for complete list of 30 equipments).

* Organised and conducted National Survey of Blindness in all the States and U.T. of India (Mohan 1986-89) with many innovations in survey methodology.

* Developed Concept of District Blindness Society under N.P.C.B. as peripheral organisational unit for prevention of visual handicap and control of blindness.

* Organised two years training of Paramedical ophthalmic assistants (P.M.O.A.) at 37 medical colleges to produce 800 PMOA’s every year.

Special awards:
* National Republic Day Award, PADMASHREE by Govt. of India (1985).

* Convetted Adenwala Oration Gold Medal, Highest award by All India Ophthalmology Society, (1981) for ophthalmic research.

* Mehray distinguished services award for community services in prevention of blindness by U.P. Govt. (1985).

* O.P. Bhasin Award of Science and Technology in health & medical science (1991).

* Distinguished contributions to lens implant surgery (research) in the countries of Asia and the Pacific by the Asia Pacific Intra-ocular Implant Association (1997).

* Distinguished services award – Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (1981).

* Distinguished services award by International Eye Bank, Washington, USA (1966).

* Life Time Achievement Award by All India Ophthalmic Society (2000).

Positions in national & international organisation:
* Councillor/Regional Secretary (1984 to 1997), Vice President (1999) Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology.

* Member, Programme Advisory Group, WHO Geneva on global strategy for the control of blindness (1980 to 1990).

* President, All India Ophthalmological Society – (1988).

* President, National Society for the Prevention of Blindness (1980 to 1983).

* President, Delhi Ophthalmological Society.

* Director, M.M.Eyetech Microsurgery Centre.

* Trustee, Bhopal Memorial Hospital Trust, Bhopal.

* Kayastha Bhushan and Kyastha Shiromani by National Kayastha Sabha.

* Member, DAV College Management Committee.

* Hony Life President – Madan Mohan Cornea Society.

* Hony. Life President of Indian Society of Cornea and Kerato-Refractive Surgoens (ISCKRS).

Main appointments:
* Chief and Prof. of Ophthalmology, Dr. R. P. Centre for Ophthalmic Sciences, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi (1979 to 89).

* Advisor Ophthalmology, Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, Govt. of India (1980 to 1991).

* Hony. Surgeon to the President of India.

Special clinical interests:
* Anterior Segment Surgery, Keratoplasty, Intra-ocular lens implantation.

* Public Health Ophthalmology and prevention of blindness.

Main research work:
* Trachoma, Corneal Diseases & Keratoplasty.

* Epidemiology of Blinding disorders (cataract, trachoma & Vitamin A deficiency).

* Etiopathogenesis of Myopia & corneal disorders.

Main research papers:
* India – US Case control study of age related cataracts. Mohan M., Sperduto R. D. et al (The India – US Case-Control Study Group). Archives of Ophthalmology Vol. 107, 670 – 676 (1989).

* Experimental Myopia in the Rabbits, Mohan M., Rao B. A., Dada VK. Exp.

Eye Research 25: 33-38 (1977).

Books written:
* Editor – Indian Journal of Ophthalmology I.J.O. (1983 – 86).

* Editor – Proceeding All India Ophthalmological Society, AIOS (1979-82).

* Editor – National Survey of Blindness – India, NPCB – WHO (1989).

* Editor – Collaborative Study on Blindness (1971 – 74), Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi.

* Editor – Collaborative Study on Prevalence of Cataract (1981 – 84), Indian Council of Medical Research, New Delhi.

* Editor – Working group manual on control of Blindness NPCB (1982), D.G.H.S., New Delhi

Extra curricular activities:
* Horticulture

* Sports (Tennis, Golf).